HLRGazette Archives

Relive some of our best stories.

• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

A Dash of Pepper

E-mail Print PDF
Recently, the United States Supreme Court drove a stake into the heart and soul of the atrocious McCain-Feingold bill. This awful piece of legislation purported to reform the way political campaigns are financed.
What it really did was put unconstitutional limits on our most basic right - that of free speech and free expression. As a journalist, I was, at first, nonplussed when the law passed and then appalled by it. I was alternately saddened and angered by John McCain's participation in crafting a terrible piece of legislation. Anyone to who reads this column regularly knows that I took a shot at McCain-Feingold as often as possible, so I feel gratified by the Court's ruling.
Some background: A nonprofit corporation, Citizens United, wanted to make a film available on cable-on-demand that was critical of then-candidate Hilary Clinton.
Because Citizens United is organized as a corporation, its speech was banned under McCain-Feingold.
Citizens United challenged the ban, and on January 21st, the Supreme Court struck down this provision of McCain-Feingold and reversed a previous decision that allowed government to ban corporations, nonprofits and labor unions from promoting or opposing political candidates. This applied to a period 30 days before a primary election and 60 DAYS before a general election. The government could ban almost anything during those periods - movies, cable (purchased) programs, TV ads, and radio ads. Oddly, as I recall, print media was exempted!
The ruling represents a huge victory for free speech and a serious blow to proponents of campaign finance "reform."
This ruling is a straightforward application of basic First Amendment principles. The ruling states: