HLRGazette Archives

Relive some of our best stories.

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Sheriff’s department honors officers

E-mail Print PDF
Officers and employees were honored at an awards banquet with numerous awards and citations that were presented to members of the Wood County Sheriff's Department and other county officers on December 12th at the awards banquet held at the Carroll Green Civic Center in Quitman.
Deputy Sam Threadgill was named Officer of the Year and Deputy Matthew Gann was recognized as Rookie of the Year at the event.
Other awards were made, as follows:
· Patrol Supervisor of the Year - Lt. John Farmer.
· Reserve Deputy of the Year - Deputy David Barber
· Correction Supervisor of the Year - Sgt. Richard Croney
· Detention Officer of the Year - Michael Gilmore
· Dispatcher of the Year - Monica Bailey
· Secretary of the Year and 31 Years of Service - Teri Fox
· Outstanding Service Awards - Patrol Sgt. Lee Wilkins and Detention Officer Jeff Hightower
Letter of Commendation were presented to:
· Sgt. Jayson Farmer for Above and Beyond the Call of Duty
· Sgt. Kevin Fretwell for solving the years-old theft of millions of dollars of equipment from oil fields
· Janae Holland for Warrant Service
· Joshua O'Grady and Curtis Robertson for Dispatching
· Michael Allison and Melanie Wolf for Narcotics Detention
Certificate Awards for Life-Saving were presented to:
· Tracy Young, Jeff Hightower and Joshua O'Grady for saving an inmate's life.
Longevity Awards for 10 or more years of service were presented to:
· Carrie Hunt, 10 years; Sgt. Joel Moore, Janae Holland, Debra Poston, Sgt. David Hayes and Richard Croney, 11 years; Capt. Kevin Clanton, 16 years, Lt. Mike Zackary and Brenda McClure, 18 years; and Shelley Judge, 21 years.
Certificates of Appreciation were presented to:
· Constables Stephen Bowser, Edward Shadbolt, Gary Dixon, and J.L. Pennington from the four county precincts for assisting the sheriff's department, and to Emergency Management Coordinator/Fire Marshal Randy Selman for his help in getting grants for equipment and new radios for the sheriff's department.
Last Updated on Saturday, 30 January 2010 00:09