HLRGazette Archives

Relive some of our best stories.

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Wood County Commissioners Court

E-mail Print PDF
Meeting in regular session Friday, December 10, Wood County Commissioners renewed the management contract for the Lake Hawkins RV-Park to John and Estelline Warren and reappointed two members to the board of directors of the Wood County Emergency Services District # 1. Commissioners also heard the annual report of the Wood County Extension Service. Retiring Wood County Clerk Brenda Taylor was recognized for her service to the county and its citizens with a proclomation.
The court approved a management contract with John and Estelline Warren for services at the Recreational Vehicle Park at Lake Hawkins. There had been confusion about missing documentation of three other bidders and controversy on the letting of the contract to another bidder at an earlier meeting of the court. The Warrens, who have operated the county-owned RV Park for the past eight years, completed all required documentation for the bid and were the low bidder at an annual cost of $59,400. Precinct-3 Commissioner Roger Pace abstained from the 4-0-1 vote. The contract is for the term of one-year, with three yearly extensions with the agreement of both parties.
James Paul Wheeler and Elmer Lewis were reappointed to the board of directors of Wood County Emergency Services District #1 serving Holly Lake and surrounding areas. The district provides property tax support for the Holly Lake Volunteer Fire Department and the emergency services it provides. Board is comprised of Wheeler, Lewis and James H. Wagoner, Sherrill Johnson and E. Richard Crowell.
Texas AgriLife Extension Agents Clint Perkins and Angie Monk of Wood County presented an annual report of services delivered to the county and its residents over the past year. Perkins said agriculture is a $160-million-a-year business while livestock and forage production add another $45 million in economic activity to the county annually. These businesses in the county received important and relevant information about making their activities more productive, more profitable and more successful. Monk reported that her services in the past year were directed at improving health and wellness. Programs activities and events for the local 4-H program and for the Wood County Master Gardeners program were also reviewed in the report. Perkins reported that members of the Master Gardener Program volunteered 5,165 hours of time in various projects representing a value of $104,586.20 contributed to the county.
In other action the court approved:
- a two-week County payroll of $399,825.02.
- employee and family health claims of $77,502.79.
- claims and payments totaling $292,804.78.
- constable reports from all four precinct constables for the month of November.
- right-of-way entry in Precinct-4 on CR-4990.
- trade-in vehicles (4) for like-kind replacements for WCSO.
- adding COBRA to both dental and vision insurance plans.
- transfer of $100,000 to Health Plan Contingency.
- reappointment of Jeff Karlson to the Upper Sabine Valley Solid waste Management District board of directors.
- corrected FY 2011 WCSO salary schedule for six employees grandfathered under 2009 Longevity Pay policy.
- accept donation of 2003 Ford Crown Victoria to Wood County Airport from City of Mineola.
- authorization to maintain plan provisions of the Texas County & District Retirement System.
Personnel actions include:
- Barbara Thompson, Karen Metzel, Shirley Hurt and Carol Denson end of temporary employment period, early voting clerks, Elections Administration, $9.00/hour.
- Larry D. Gerry, Lee A. Clark, Leon Jimmie Musick and Tommy Snow, end of temporary seasonal work, Pct-3 R&B, $9.00/hour.
- Robert Benjamin Mayberry, end of temporary employment, Pct-4 Lake.
- Jerrie Wilbanks, end of temporary part-time work, Tax Assessor Collectors office, $9.00/hour.
The next regular meeting of the Wood County Commissioners Court will be Wednesday, December 22, 2010 at 10 a.m. A special meeting of the court can be called with 72-hour public notice.