HLRGazette Archives

Relive some of our best stories.

• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Water Rate Increase

E-mail Print PDF

Bob Adams brings info on Water Rate Increase

I, Bob Adams, have lived at Holly Lake Ranch for 15 years. I have been involved in several rate increase protests since I have been here. We used to get them every 2 years the last one being in 1999. There is a history to all of this which I will not go into here. As everyone knows, we now have a new owner of the water company. I have been expecting a rate increase for several years but it has not happened for one reason or another. I am in the process of getting together a protest for this rate increase.
First of all you must understand one fundamental about the rate increase. Any utility in Texas is allowed by law to make a 12% rate of return based on their assets. That is because utilities are asset heavy. Their revenue is not taken into consideration. Our last increase allowed Silverleaf to make about a 35% profit on revenue but their profit was 12% on asset value. We must find out their asset value to see if their rate increase is according to the law.
I already have several people who have volunteered to help in this effort. Presently I am lacking a person who can look at the water companies books and determine if the value of their assets is valid. I have a meeting with our B board on April 21, 2009. They have never been involved before so I do not know how it will effect our protest. I have talked to the local personnel of the water company who is sensitive to their customers. The water companies Director of Central Operations has contacted me and we will have a meeting in the near future.