HLRGazette Archives

Relive some of our best stories.

• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Inspiring Peak Performance

E-mail Print PDF
What Does It Mean To "Teach"?
I remember cramming for early college exams with vague fondness. Somehow pizza and a large social group facilitated recovery from skipped classes, partially completed homework still in my binder and chapters unread. A few short hours with more disciplined classmates and my previously tidy short-term memory was chock full of facts, figures, and quotes-all prepped for regurgitation.
If I was careful to hold my head steady so nothing spilled out and lucky enough that the professor asked the right questions, I survived most tests. The process was like wringing a dripping sponge until there was nothing left but a dry, thirsty vessel. Retesting shows most students suffer a significant drop in recall after a few short days and weeks. As a freshman, I was fortunate enough to remove the clutter quickly so I could focus on the important things like basketball, guitar, and social studies (i.e. activities). (I am blessed to have married Mary after my junior year. As a married man I made the Dean's list; almost too late to renovate my average, but not quite.)
The point is how do we know when people learn something new? A colleague and I recently had some dialogue about what it means to teach. Excerpts from the Encarta definitions are instructive:
Teach:
1. To impart knowledge or skill to somebody by instruction or example
2. To give lessons in or provide information about a subject